Adrian Cross Country holds awards banquet

The Adrian Cross Country team concluded their season on Thursday, November 7, by hosting the end of the year banquet. The banquet each year celebrates the successes of the season and allows for an opportunity to reward high levels of effort and participation throughout the year.

The banquet was held in the middle/high school lunchroom and Keith’s Grocery catered the event. The Dragons began the program with a meal, a recap of the season, recognition of team members, and then awards. Each year, the Cross Country team is awarded five different awards. The Junior High MVP went to Hunter Penning and Cam Hinsch. The Most Improved Award went to Taya Elias and Ky Ruppert. The Hardest Worker Award went to Moriah Bullerman, Gracia Elias, and Bruce Farinella. The Most Promising Award, which is an award that goes to the runner who shows the most potential to lead in the future, went to Hiltyn Heitkamp and Dylan Graff. Finally, the Most Valuable Runner went to Moriah Bullerman and Dylan Graff.

The team had 12 letter winners. In order to letter, runners must run half of the meets on the varsity team or run on the Section team. Managers can letter by participating for two years at the position. Lettering members for the Dragons were Moriah Bullerman, Annika Elias, Gracia Elias, Alysha Wieneke, Morgan Penning, Hiltyn Heitkamp, Ashlee Christians, Ky Ruppert, Taya Elias, Dylan Graff, Hunter Penning and Bruce Farinella. The two seniors for the Dragons were also recognized for their commitment and dedication to Adrian Cross Country. The pair of seniors were Moriah Bullerman and Annika Elias who have more than a decade of experience between the two. These two have led by example this year and have been model team members and student athletes for the underclassmen.

Congratulations to everyone on a successful 2019 season. Your coaches appreciate your time and are proud of your accomplishments.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email